Home > Machine fix > “GLX” missing on display

“GLX” missing on display

I’ve recently upgraded to Ubuntu 10.04, and the first time I ran SciLab I got no graphics.  I’m using an Intel Corporation Mobile GM965/GL960 video card, and when I check the implementation this is what I get:

tisza@tisza-ubuntu:~$ sudo lspci | grep VGA
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Mobile GM965/GL960 Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 0c)
tisza@tisza-ubuntu:~$ glxinfo
name of display: :0.0
Xlib:  extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
Xlib:  extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
Xlib:  extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
Xlib:  extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
Xlib:  extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
Error: couldn't find RGB GLX visual or fbconfig

Xlib:  extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
Xlib:  extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
Xlib:  extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
Xlib:  extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
Xlib:  extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
Xlib:  extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
Xlib:  extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
3 GLXFBConfigs:
visual  x  bf lv rg d st colorbuffer ax dp st accumbuffer  ms  cav
id dep cl sp sz l  ci b ro  r  g  b  a bf th cl  r  g  b  a ns b eat

After poking around a couple of forum pages, I finally got a workaround.  Thank you ~witekk for the fix.  So here’s how to do it. On the terminal (as root):

sudo apt-get purge nvidia*
sudo apt-get install --reinstall xserver-xorg-video-intel  libgl1-mesa-glx libgl1-mesa-dri xserver-xorg-core
sudo dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg
sudo update-alternatives --remove gl_conf /usr/lib/nvidia-current/ld.so.conf

Luckily, this solves the same problem with two other graphic controllers:

 

  • Intel Corporation Mobile 945GM/GMS, 943/940GML Express Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 03)
  • Intel Corporation Mobile 4 Series Chipset Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 07)

There you have it. Enjoy!

Categories: Machine fix Tags: , , ,
  1. Name
    September 21, 2010 at 7:53 pm

    sudo apt-get install –reinstall xserver-xorg-video-intel libgl1-mesa-glx libgl1-mesa-dri xserver-xorg-core[BREAK]sudo dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg

    😉

    • theiszm
      September 21, 2010 at 8:01 pm

      corrected. thanks 😉

  2. alexsimps
    October 16, 2010 at 7:44 am

    This is just what i needed to fix a problem of mine thanks alot!

  3. fregs
    April 7, 2011 at 1:04 am

    thanks alot, this did the trick!..been searching for a while now

  4. June 1, 2011 at 11:46 pm

    This worked! Thank you so much, finally have a working desktop again.

  5. alastairhw
    October 20, 2011 at 5:14 pm

    You are a star! Thank you for this, really really happy to have my desktop back!

  6. Claus Hetzer
    January 25, 2012 at 5:38 am

    Thank you so much! Got this error trying to run Google Earth, and you wouldn’t believe how many other folks are getting it. I got errors when reinstalling the mesa packages, but adding /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/mesa and /usr/lib32/mesa to the ldconfig search path got around them.

  7. David
    February 3, 2012 at 9:39 pm

    This also corrected Ubuntu 11.10 with Unity! Before: Unity 2D was launched. After: Unity 3D works like a charm. (with Intel G31 / G33 graphics controller)

    Thanks a lot.

  8. Ilango
    February 15, 2012 at 3:56 am

    Excellent. To fix this problem I was trying so many things including visiting variuos forums. Finally, this one worked. Awesome.

  9. February 22, 2012 at 7:38 pm

    This REALLY helped! Thanks!

  10. swaroop
    March 2, 2012 at 3:38 pm

    thanks a ton you are a saviour

  11. Whatever
    May 1, 2012 at 6:38 am

    Thanks! That was helpful indeed!

  12. Peter Snow
    May 19, 2012 at 6:48 pm

    I just tried this and it said that kubuntu-desktop and ubuntu-desktop were both reliant on nvidia, it asked if I wanted to remove them as well. I bottled out, thinking that I might be needing them! What do you think? Should I say ok?

  13. Thank you
    May 20, 2012 at 3:51 am

    Thank you, This did the trick for me as well you realy know your stuff!!!

  14. Jim
    May 24, 2012 at 7:20 am

    I have lived with lack of hardware 3D/OpenGL for literally years because I was told my Intel GPU was blacklisted. You have no idea how chuffed I am that your post has actually fixed this for me!
    FYI, Ubuntu 12.04 Punctual Pangolin, Dell Studio 17 (1737) with Intel i915.

  15. May 26, 2012 at 10:59 am

    How did you figure this out? You freaking genius!

    I installed gnome-shell from the Ubuntu software center after a clean install of 12.04 LTS on my brand new Lenovo W520. Gnome-Shell was in fallback mode. After much digging on the Internets, I came across your article and deparately entered your commands into my shell. Lo and behold! Gnome-Shell awesomeness.

    Thank you very much!

  16. Zeze
    June 17, 2012 at 10:08 pm

    Thanks a lot! ubuntu 10 + opengl working fine in virtualbox also…

  17. Matt
    June 28, 2012 at 7:24 am

    Super! Worked a treat! God bless you 🙂 Thanks

  18. December 28, 2012 at 4:19 am

    I hope that someone is still montitoring this post. I am a total noob with Linux and am running Ubuntu 12.04 dual boot with Vista on a Dell Insprion 1501. I receive the “GLX missing error” when trying to run Cheese in terminal. The part that I need help with is that being the novice that I am, I not sure I understand how to input lines 2 and 4 of the code. Specifically the commands “–reinstall” and “–remove.” I have copied and pasted both those lines into termal and Ubuntu throws them back as unreconigized commands. Any clarification is appreciated.

    • Peter Snow
      December 28, 2012 at 7:52 am

      Hi Jennifer,

      It should be two hyphens before ‘reinstall’ and ‘remove’ not one as in your post! That should fix it for you. 🙂

  19. Nomar
    May 13, 2013 at 1:01 am

    Thank you so much!

  20. PenguinTimeFun
    April 11, 2014 at 6:42 am

    It worked! Thank you! ^_^

  21. Devyani
    June 9, 2014 at 8:02 pm

    Thanks a lot. It works !

  22. October 8, 2014 at 1:58 am

    Excellent post. I was checking constantly this blog and I am inspired!
    Very helpful information specially the final section 🙂 I maintain such information much.
    I was looking for this particular information for a
    long time. Thank you and best of luck.

  1. August 26, 2012 at 10:41 pm

Leave a Reply

